Blog Name


Sharks scrape into 2016 Super Rugby Finals Series

After 17 rounds and 135 matches of the regular season the quarter-finalists for the 2016 Super Rugby tournament have been determined. The four Conference winners will host the four wildcard teams in the quarter-finals.

The Hurricanes won the hotly contested battle of the New Zealand Conference to finish as Conference winner and top tournament seed to secure its home quarter-final. The Hurricanes beat the Crusaders in Christchurch, while the Highlanders beat the Chiefs 25-15 in Dunedin.

The Lions 34-22 loss in Buenos Aires to the Jaguares saw them finish top of South Africa Conference 2 to qualify as tournament second seed.

The Stormers finished as South Africa 1 Conference winners after beating the Kings 52-24 in Cape Town and enter the quarter-finals as third seed. The Australian Conference winner is the Brumbies who beat the Force in Canberra 24-10 to qualify as fourth seed. Meaning the Waratahs missed out on quarter-final qualification.

The wild card quarter-finalists are three teams from the Australasia Group: the Highlanders, Chiefs, Crusaders; and the Sharks from South Africa 2 who beat to the Sunwolves 40-29 to claim the one wild card spot from the South Africa Group.



Leave a Comment
Please note, comments are moderated and will be removed if deemed offensive


Mobile Commerce by EstarOnline